• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Internal v External Candidates for Train Driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

Newster05

Morning. I'm looking for some advice.
After 25 years in the public sector I've applied to a number of TOCs for a variety of roles - being a trainee train driver my ultimate aim. I've been considering applying for about 5 years now but due to family commitments only now has become the ideal time. Knowing the competition is fierce and process is tough, I considered different roles for this reason; never thinking I'd get this far! I now find myself having passed the MMI and awaiting a DMI in a bit of a quandary. (I've done a private medical so know I'll should be okay with that part of the process). Today I have been offered an interview for a public service job with the same TOC I am awaiting a DMI with. I've read a few threads that say internal applicants can be held up with progression to train driver because of HR holding them back? Has anyone experienced this? One thread I've read said that it's better to be an external candidate. I know the "foot in the door" saying isn't well accepted on here and I don't want it to seem that's what I'm considering. Anyone find that their internal application was held up? Being the same TOC I presume they will know about my awaiting DMI? Any advice please.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Johncleesefan