irish mk3

Discussion in 'Traction & Rolling Stock' started by snakeeyes, 23 Nov 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snakeeyes

    snakeeyes Member

    Messages:
    158
    Joined:
    7 Jun 2011
    Any news about these coaches, have they been sold yet?
     
  2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

    Rail Forums

     
  3. sprinterguy

    sprinterguy Established Member

    Messages:
    9,399
    Joined:
    4 Mar 2010
    Location:
    Macclesfield
  4. snakeeyes

    snakeeyes Member

    Messages:
    158
    Joined:
    7 Jun 2011
    thanks sprinterguy,


    cant belive that these will go for scrap, what a waste, thet have years of life left in them
     
  5. starrymarkb

    starrymarkb Established Member

    Messages:
    5,985
    Joined:
    4 Aug 2009
    Location:
    Exeter
    Thing is who would want them, they are broad gauge. IE are finding the InterCityRailcars give them far more flexibily without the need for runrounds, generator vans etc.

    I suspect the cost of coverting to UK gauge and rewiring for locomotive supply was too high for UK operators given the lifespan of the stock.
     
  6. swtandgw

    swtandgw Member

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    24 Nov 2011
    If they're getting scrapped, shouldn't the ROSCOs that own our MK3s look to cannibalising the plug door equipment from the Irish MK3s so then when it comes to the next refits, the doors can then finally comply with the ever tightening RVAR?
     
  7. starrymarkb

    starrymarkb Established Member

    Messages:
    5,985
    Joined:
    4 Aug 2009
    Location:
    Exeter
    the RVAR has been relaxed a bit in the last few years. The UIC TSIs are now the reference. And are the Plug Doors in Irish Form compliant? UK Coaches will need a lot of strengthening around the car ends (BR did an experimental retrofit in the 1990s to a Mk2) so it may be better off as a bespoke design.

    Plus a lot of the Mk3s are not going to get another refit beyond 2020...
     
  8. DarloRich

    DarloRich Veteran Member

    Messages:
    19,169
    Joined:
    12 Oct 2010
    Location:
    Work - Fenny Stratford(MK) Home - Darlington
    As i said before - what i have been told by one of the engineers who worked on the coaches when they were built it would be quite easy to regauge them to our gauge.

    I suppose the main cost might be assoicated with the electrical works needed to get them to work with our locos.

    However, i doubt those costs would be excessive IF there was a will (or a need?) to get hold of the coaches
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page