• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Joining TransPennine (maybe) - Few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yellabowley

Afternoon all,

New member and apologies but I’m about to ramble a bit and ask a few questions. I have an assessment centre coming up but I am very torn as to what to do. I’m currently a Police Officer with 14.5 years service. I joined at 22 and with the latest legal ruling over pensions it looks like I’m going back onto my old pension scheme (at least until the government change it again). This means I’ll retire at 52 (only 15 years away) with a six figure lump sum and a decent monthly wedge for life. However I struggle badly with the Police style interviews, had around 14 in my career and never passed one. I excel at practical tests, exams (Passed the Sergeants exam with the highest mark in the force that year) and IQ type tests, but every job has an interview. This is what gives me my biggest dilemma. I’m resigned to being a Constable for life and not climbing the ladder. As such I’m on £40k a year. I don’t hate my job, it’s stressful at times but it’s ok, and as sad as it sounds I am still proud of what I do. I’m trying to weigh up the pros and cons but as I said I don’t know enough about the train driver benefits as yet.

First obvious benefit of the TP job is after training I’ll be on £58k a year. And I’m aware that once I’m a qualified driver there are even better paid jobs out there. So what is the scope for progression either within one company or by moving to other companies?

Then are the ones that I can’t find so readily. What is the retirement age of a train driver? Is it just the national retirement age or is there a limit on how old you can be (I know pilots have an age limit for example)?