• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

London Euston - Liverpool Lime Street

Status
Not open for further replies.

RailwayDan

Hello everyone,

I've been looking around for a while but this is my first time posting.

From September I'm going to have to be making fairly regular trips up to Liverpool, and have been trying to work out the cheapest way to do it.

The first option seemed to be the VT service from Euston to Lime Street in just over 2hrs, but the lack of advance tickets at 1 week in advance and the average cost (with a 16-25 railcard) being around £40 (or £46.20 for an off-peak return) has made me look elsewhere.

So then I found London Midland and their £16.15 Super Off-Peak Return (LM Only), with the journey time being 75% longer via Stafford. Having never travelled on LM before my question is, is this the best way of doing it to save money? Time is not really an issue for me, I was looking at the coach initially, but National Express is £9-£16 each way and takes 6 hours!

Do LM have any catering? And do they have a first class service like VT or EMT? I currently use the Meridian line regularly and usually travel on 1st Advance tickets.

Also, just checked on LM mixing deck and the 50% offer they have on the London - Birmingham route till 3rd July is also on the London - Liverpool ticket, so Super Off Peak return (with a railcard) is only £8.10! Bargain.

Thanks, Dan

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

tony_mac

Established Member
The £46.20 off-peak return is valid at any time on Virgin trains (which is handy because the peak-time trains are generally much quieter).
The LM ticket is quite restrictive on the times.

You may get a trolley service between Stafford and Liverpool, but you may not.