• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Lost my ticket at Merseyrail - appeal likelihood.

shay719

I dropped my ticket in the train as I hopped out and was too late when I realised the train already left. I had the transaction for the ticket purchase 2 hours before on my phone but when I showed it to the staff they automatically issued me a £103 fine and would not hear me out. It’s incredibly frustrating and I get it’s a byelaw but from peoples experience how likely will an appeal be accepted? I gave them a screenshot of my phone transaction and the exact time and ticket machine for them to check the CCTV to confirm I did buy the ticket. I am a student from Guernsey and gave them my term time address but I will be moving out in under a month so I am very stressed that this appeal will be denied and they will keep issuing the fines to my previous address without it getting forwarded to my Guernsey address and the cost would triple. Should I wait out the appeal process in the risk of it getting denied and me leaving that address or just pay it now due to low likelihood of appeal success. Many thanks in advance.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Hadders

Veteran Member
Associate Staff
Senior Fares Advisor
Welcome to the forum!

This sounds like an unfortunate incident but technically you weren't able to produce a valid ticket when asked to do so, and that is an offence. I recommend paying the Penalty Fare (pedant alert - it isn't a fine, onlya court can impose a fine as a punioshemnt upon conviction). If you pay within 21 days then the amount is reduced to £53.90. Once the Penalty Fare is paid that is the end of the matter.