1. 125Group forum donation: see here!

Never give up - and thank you

Discussion in 'Railway Jobs & Careers' started by martin2345uk, 12 Jan 2019.

1. martin2345uk

martin2345uk Established Member

So this was one of my first posts on this forum back in 2011....

I am now 36, and I have just been offered a trainee driver role.

What I am saying is, don't give up - if you want this, keep trying. I have no railway experience, I have only done office jobs, there was a time I thought it was just never happen - I never got past the initial sifts, but I pressed on and finally my luck came in with a firm who went straight into tests rather than a CV.

I have seen some posts on here over the years where people get very despondent after yet another "thanks but no thanks", and I have been there many many times, but it IS possible.

And this forum has been such a massive source of information, I 100% could not have done it without the stuff I learned on here so thanks to everyone who posts with advice, tips, moral support, it's a great place.

Martin (",)

2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

Rail Forums

3. KT530

KT530 Member

Congratulations Martin; all the best with your training.

4. GLENMAYE77

GLENMAYE77 Member

Try try and try again is the motto.....hope to be joining you at the same company on a future course!

Well done matey!!

5. Seejwalker

Seejwalker Member

I'm glad you finally got the green light mate, good luck going forward.

6. keep truckin

keep truckin Member

Damn good work Martin lad! The best of luck with your new job.

7. Paddy O'Doors

Paddy O'Doors Member

Congratulations, hope it goes well for you.
    Makes me realise how lucky I was to be on a training course 4 months after my very first application, I think I may have given up after 10 years.

8. stretchdj74

stretchdj74 Member

Congrats Martin, glad you have made it through, hopefully one day I will be able to write the same message :)

9. 700007

700007 Member