• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

New Ayrshire Timetable

Status
Not open for further replies.

kylemore

Just had a look at the new timetable, unless I've got it wrong there are no off peak express services from Stations Irvine to Ayr inc. to Paisley Gilmour St!
Please tell me I'm wrong and I've just misread the timetable.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

apestyler

That's pretty much it in a nutshell - I'm a driver on this route and the not stopping at Paisley on the express headcodes is certainly going to catch a few passengers out and a bit weird for us shooting through Gilmour St!

From what I can gather the pattern from Glasgow is:

xx00: Express to Ayr (First stop Kilwinning)
xx04: Stopper to Irvine
xx30: Express to Ayr (First stop Kilwinning)
xx34: Stopper to Ayr

kylemore

What a monumentally stupid idea!

How long will this nonsense last?

The equivalent would be the E&Gs running through Haymarket in Edinburgh!

A big loss of connectivity for absolutely no return.

Last edited:

Sadsmileyface

You've got Transport Scotland to thank for that.

They know better than everyone about everything apparently.

Another move with purely political motivations just so they can say they're reducing journey times.

gingerheid

Established Member
It's a mixture of craziness and a sad and realistic reflection of the fact that Paisley town centre is slowly being wiped off the map by Braehead and Silverburn :(

gazza8

So Paisley gets 8 trains an hour to Glasgow Central at the moment and because there not upping it to 10 its the end of the Ayrshire and Inverclyde railway??

Some people are never happy, the majority of trains after peak time are dead from Paisley anyway