• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Purpose of signals

Status
Not open for further replies.

GuyBarry

I don't work in the rail industry and I'm not a great expert on it, so forgive me if I've misunderstood this.

Yesterday I was waiting for my regular train from Chippenham to Bath. The indicator said there were delays "due to signalling problems between Swindon and Chippenham". As far as I can see there is one junction between Swindon and Chippenham, where the South Wales main line diverges from the Great Western main line. The trains to Chippenham, Bath and Bristol take the left fork. They do not cross the path of any other trains. Why do they need to be signalled? Is there anywhere else that a signal might need to be placed along that stretch of track?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

dave55uk

I'm not overly familiar with the stretch of line you are referring to but...

'Signalling problems' could be a multitude of things. A signal light out necessitating trains being cautioned, maybe a point failure, something electrical gone 'pop'...

As for signalling itself, signals are not only to protect junctions. They are also used to regulate trains and maintain safe headways.

LNW-GW Joint

Veteran Member
I don't work in the rail industry and I'm not a great expert on it, so forgive me if I've misunderstood this.