Railcard website currently broken

Discussion in 'Fares Advice & Policy' started by monxton, 29 Nov 2019.

1. monxton

monxton Member

The railcard website has been down for a few days now. They took it down for maintenance but now they say
    Their Twitter and Facebook are going wild with desperate would-be passengers, who are being advised to pay full fare and claim back afterwards.

I was there because I wanted to get a code to transfer my digital card to a new device. Luckily for me, the old device is still working, so my journey tomorrow is unaffected. It's really a shambles though.

2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

Rail Forums

3. thewaistcoat

thewaistcoat Member

Yup, they're busted beyond belief. Being trying to move a railcard between phones since yesterday. Luckily I don't need it for a week or so. Must have got TSBs IT team in for their maintenance work. I work in the same field, this is very shabby. The advice I've seen is to pay for a full ticket and to claim the difference back which you can do only once per year!

4. ainsworth74

ainsworth74 Forum Staff Staff Member Global Moderator

And this is why, if I had the choice, I'd have stuck with a trusty paper railcard. I have little faith in the industries ability to actually deliver the product via electronic means reliably and even less faith in ensuring I'm not out of pocket if they make a mistake!

5. PeterC

PeterC Established Member

Glad I chose a plastic one when I bought it a few days ago.

6. Bletchleyite

Bletchleyite Veteran Member

Yep, I shall be sticking with a placky one for as long as I can, even if it comes at a small extra fee.

7. infobleep

infobleep Established Member

Surely under the circumstances they would allow one to claim back the difference more than once.

8. trentside

trentside Established Member Senior Fares Advisor

In the circumstances, I would hope so.