• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Refund due to King's Cross closure

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlackMonk

Dear All

I August I bought a season ticket for travel between my home station and London King's Cross. There was no mention at the point of sale that I would be unable to use my ticket over the August bank holiday due to King's Cross being closed for engineering works. The first I knew about it was someone handing our leaflets outside my station. I often go into London and over the bank holiday weekend I had intended to go with my family to the Notting Hill Carnival.

I applied for a refund but my train company (Govia Thameslink) refused on the grounds they had advertised the closure well in advance. The trouble is I am a teacher and I do not commute into London over the summer. I would not seen any posters or read any announcements in newspapers. I would have had no reason to visit their website. I was also out the country for one week.

In addition to being unfair I do not believe Govia Thameslink made all possible effort to contact their customers. I have made dozens of Delay Repay claims so they have my contact details on file. They could have emailed all their customers. I also feel they could have arranged a bus replacement service at least as far as Finsubry Park.

I am going to make a complaint, is there anything (e.g. consumer protection law) I can use to support my application for a refund?

Thanking you in advance

BM

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

jopsuk

Veteran Member
There were definitely posters at all Great Northern/Thameslink stations regarding the Kings Cross closure by the start of August- fairly sure I saw them as early as June.