• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Ticketing online unusual fares

Status
Not open for further replies.

Halsebee

I was discussing the proposed closure of ticket offices recently at a meeting I was at with someone who seemed to know a lot about online ticket sales. I've been using split ticketing for many, many years, but was bemoaning the fact that whilst there are a number of, in my view, very good sites that offer split tickets, there are none that could replace a ticket office for issuing things like change of route excesses, or overdistance excesses for example. The person I was speaking to told me that some sites had upped their game in the last few months and now do offer the facility to buy the more unusual types of ticket. Unfortunately I didn't ask him which sites they were. i can't find any of the more common split ticket sites that offer this sort of thing, or at least I don't know how to access it if they do.
Can anyone advise on whether sites do, and if so which ones might be worth looking at?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Deafdoggie

Established Member
Seatfrog do it...up to a point. Certain operators for now. You enter your booking details (original booking must be with seatfrog) and it will tell you if your ticket can be swapped and how much it costs you.
Trainline also offer the same service but for every operator. Essentially both are refunding the existing ticket and issuing a new one, which is arguably the same, or indeed even better, than excessing. As you can do this with all ticket types (subject to a few restrictions) Of course, neither site can do it with paper tickets that have already been printed.