Websites and apps that have a bus tracker that shows the reg number or fleet number of the vehicles.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Sprinter150

Member
Joined
31 Aug 2018
Messages
72
That's what it looks like, but how about this one? Unless it's in km/h rather than mph (even so 80kph would be higher than you might expect for a service bus)...
upload_2019-11-5_16-36-58.png
 

Man of Kent

Member
Joined
5 Jul 2018
Messages
212
That's what it looks like, but how about this one? Unless it's in km/h rather than mph (even so 80kph would be higher than you might expect for a service bus)...
View attachment 70158
The example shown includes the dead run from the depot in Dover along the mostly-dual carriageway A2 to the Wincheap park and ride site in Canterbury, so speeds of 50mph are entirely to be what is expected. As are the dizzy heights of 10kph (so 6.5mph) for the crawl into the middle of Canterbury.
 

Sprinter150

Member
Joined
31 Aug 2018
Messages
72
There seems to be an odd phenomenon on Bus Times at the moment. I've seen that over the past few days, many vehicles in the Arriva Midlands fleet seem to have been duplicated on the tracker (one appears as the normal vehicle and the other always in white livery, always without the vehicle registration). https://bustimes.org/operators/arriva-midlands-north/vehicles This means that when you are looking at the map the same bus appears twice (sometimes in slightly different positions, as one has been updated more recently). I suppose you could argue that it provides more up-to-date location, but I wondered if anyone knew why this is occurring (be it changing of ticket machines or something)?

Note: I do not know if it is just this operator that is affected or more of a widespread problem. On a quick glance, I can't find anyone else with the same problem, but that doesn't mean there isn't another operator of course.

Here is an example around Cannock: 1586972062787.png
 

markymark2000

Member
Joined
11 May 2015
Messages
789
Location
Cheshire
Another odd anomoly is buses popping up under the wrong operator. Some Glasgow Citybus buses are (or were) showing up on the McGills fleet list. Two unrelated companies. Also some Diamond WM buses were showing up under the Hallmark fleetlist despite never being in service at Hallmark.

I have tried reporting the duplicated for Arriva Midlands but I think it's all pending. Duplicates normally happen when updates are made to the tracking (note how some Oswestry routes now show).
 

Sprinter150

Member
Joined
31 Aug 2018
Messages
72
I have tried reporting the duplicated for Arriva Midlands but I think it's all pending. Duplicates normally happen when updates are made to the tracking (note how some Oswestry routes now show).
Thanks - that clears things up a bit. Based on this, I'm sure that Bus Times will get round to removing the duplicates soon.
 

awsnews

Member
Joined
13 Mar 2019
Messages
214
Another odd anomoly is buses popping up under the wrong operator. Some Glasgow Citybus buses are (or were) showing up on the McGills fleet list. Two unrelated companies. Also some Diamond WM buses were showing up under the Hallmark fleetlist despite never being in service at Hallmark.

I have tried reporting the duplicated for Arriva Midlands but I think it's all pending. Duplicates normally happen when updates are made to the tracking (note how some Oswestry routes now show).
In the past some McGill's buses have appeared on the First Glasgow listing. It was limited to where both operators appeared on the same route at different times of the day such as the 208. Not sure if that is what is happening with the McGill's and Citybus listing.
 

JamesC357

Member
Joined
9 Jun 2019
Messages
37
Ever since the emergency Covid timetables came into effect, First Essex has only been tracking one route in the entire county for some reason.
For reference, a Sunday level service is in use with extras at peak times, so most services are still running
 

martyjon

Member
Joined
19 Feb 2020
Messages
103
Location
Bristol Area
First West of England were on bustimes.org but seems to have turned off their tracking at present as stops were still showing normal timetable rti but now the la responsible for the rti has switched the system off and is displaying refer to timetables. Of course the displayed timetables are the normal ones. It's not rocket science to display emergency timetable in operation telephone ... or refer to weebsite...
 
Last edited:

carlberry

Established Member
Joined
19 Dec 2014
Messages
2,469
First West of England were on bustimes.org but seems to have turned off their tracking at present as stops were still showing normal timetable rti but now the la responsible for the rti has switched the system off and is displaying refer to timetables. Of course the displayed timetables are the normal ones. It's not rocket science to display emergency timetable in operation telephone ... or refer to weebsite...
The whole point of all the money that was spent on rti is for situations like this where the timetable changes quicker than roadside displays can be changed. However either the design is poor (which is the most likely reason as most systems dont cope with surprises like Christmas) or the agencies involved have decided not to bother, despite how important public transport provision is being viewed as being.
 

Statto

Established Member
Joined
8 Feb 2011
Messages
2,332
Location
At home or at the pub
Couple of things, i which the tracker could have a filter so you can only view some companies, & not every company & i wish there was a filter to clear the bus stops when you scroll in for a closer look, as i find half of the time when i scroll up close, i'm clicking the bus stop instead of the vehicle i want to track.
 

markymark2000

Member
Joined
11 May 2015
Messages
789
Location
Cheshire
Couple of things, i which the tracker could have a filter so you can only view some companies, & not every company & i wish there was a filter to clear the bus stops when you scroll in for a closer look, as i find half of the time when i scroll up close, i'm clicking the bus stop instead of the vehicle i want to track.
Email that through to them. The Dev seems to be quite good at implementing suggestions.
 

Kernow Dave

Member
Joined
9 Jan 2015
Messages
42
Location
Helston
I have noticed when looking at the various trackers, that some fleets, that I don't normally associate with fleet numbers seem to have one allocated on the the tracker system

Is this an internal function, as I have not seen any evidence of vehicles carrying fleet numbers.
 

Hophead

Member
Joined
5 Apr 2013
Messages
956
Brighton & Hove's map now shows loadings per bus; Southern Vectis & Reading use the same website template and also offer a bus tracker and clearly intend to also show loading data soon (Current capacity = "unknown"). So far as I can tell, all 3 are currently showing just the registration, not the fleet number.
 

traction22

Member
Joined
2 May 2016
Messages
36
First Yorkshire is a bit of a phenomenon.

First SY / WY never worked. However,

First West Yorkshire Limited is listed doesn't work, nor does First Leeds, First Halifax, First Bradford or First South Yorkshire (it's listed but only has a few buses listed from Bolton).

However, First Halifax, Calder Valley & Huddersfield and First York do work which is amazing. Esp. York as I love to get over there in summer. You know, days like today minus a pandemic.
 

markymark2000

Member
Joined
11 May 2015
Messages
789
Location
Cheshire
First Yorkshire is a bit of a phenomenon.

First SY / WY never worked. However,

First West Yorkshire Limited is listed doesn't work, nor does First Leeds, First Halifax, First Bradford or First South Yorkshire (it's listed but only has a few buses listed from Bolton).

However, First Halifax, Calder Valley & Huddersfield and First York do work which is amazing. Esp. York as I love to get over there in summer. You know, days like today minus a pandemic.
First Huddersfield and First York seem to show up and disappear quite often so they're not very reliable on the page.
 

Hophead

Member
Joined
5 Apr 2013
Messages
956
Couple of things, i which the tracker could have a filter so you can only view some companies, & not every company & i wish there was a filter to clear the bus stops when you scroll in for a closer look, as i find half of the time when i scroll up close, i'm clicking the bus stop instead of the vehicle i want to track.
There is now a "Show Stops" layer, so you can clear them when you zoom in
 

Top