Firefox Query

Status
Not open for further replies.

devon_metro

Established Member
Joined
11 Oct 2005
Messages
7,561
Location
London
When using html to create a website (or in my case Front Page) i wandered how to get the little logo next to the website url area; for example on google there is a logo with a G.
Any Help?

Thanks
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Mojo

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Joined
7 Aug 2005
Messages
17,929
Location
0035
It also happens in IE, when you add a site to your favourites.
This is my Favicon : -
http://www.railwaysonline.co.uk/favicon.ico

You can make it in any paint package (MS Paint etc.), but on the 'Save As...' screen call it favicon.ico and upload it to your root directory.

In the HTML view, put
Code:
<LINK REL="SHORTCUT ICON" HREF="favicon.ico">
between the head tags, although some browsers are smart enough to pick up favicon without you even telling it :lol:
 

Mojo

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Joined
7 Aug 2005
Messages
17,929
Location
0035
Somehow, Firefox is confused, and has given RailUK my website's Favicon :lol:

 

Simming

Established Member
Joined
8 Jun 2005
Messages
1,186
Location
Cornwall
Mines given it the google
For railuk, although its easy enough to remove, just take it out of the toolbar and put it back, it will return to the normal dull page image.
 

Gareth Hale

Member
Joined
11 Jun 2005
Messages
941
Mine has been given the myspace one for the TOC Game V4, TOC Game V5 and RUK :? Is there any way of stopping this of happeneing?
 

devon_metro

Established Member
Joined
11 Oct 2005
Messages
7,561
Location
London
Mojo said:
It also happens in IE, when you add a site to your favourites.
This is my Favicon : -
http://www.railwaysonline.co.uk/favicon.ico

You can make it in any paint package (MS Paint etc.), but on the 'Save As...' screen call it favicon.ico and upload it to your root directory.

In the HTML view, put
Code:
<LINK REL="SHORTCUT ICON" HREF="favicon.ico">
between the head tags, although some browsers are smart enough to pick up favicon without you even telling it :lol:
Thanks for that, i might make one for my site and i agree one for Railuk would be great!
 

Coxster

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2005
Messages
9,244

Tom B

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2005
Messages
4,553
Mmm, but railuk.org/hst has lodged itself in my brain (I still keep forgetting to put the "1" in the URL of another forum's URL). With a bookmark you need to tab to the menu bar or use the mouse, both of which take ages.
 
T

Tom

Guest
Coxster said:
Cockfosters said:
You could of course memorize http://www.railuk.org/hst ...
That isn't much use. The proper forum URL is http://www.railuk.org/mainbox The '/hst' one is an old one and some aspects of the forum will not work properley using that URL, despite it simply re-directing you to the '/mainbox' URL.

PLUG: I made a superb one for my site - http://www.virtual-rail.co.uk/favicon.ico ;)
Err, they will work under /mainbox via /hst - depends where your cookie still directs you though!

Hmm, BVETSS comes to mind!!
 

The Gricer

Member
Joined
11 Aug 2005
Messages
269
Location
MP 34½ SWML
The favicon really needs to be saved as a proper icon file containing at least a 16x16 pixel version and a 32x32 version. The 16x16 will be the one that appears in the address bar and in favorites (or bookmarks). If someone drags the favicon from the address bar onto their desktop as a shortcut to your site they will get the larger one, (which can be completely different from the small one even though contained in the same .ico file).
Much as I hate to follow Damon's example of plugging his own site at every opportunity, try it with the-siding.co.uk :)

Frank
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top