Forum upgrade complete

GusB

Established Member
Associate Staff
Buses & Coaches
Joined
9 Jul 2016
Messages
2,044
Location
Elginshire
Would it be fair to say that using a desktop PC is the easiest way of accessing all the attributes of the upgraded XenForo facility on this website?
The functionality of the site is the same regardless of which device you happen to be using. The site merely adapts to the available screen size - you can try this for yourself if you're on a PC (desktop or laptop) by making your browser window smaller.
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

CrispyUK

Member
Joined
19 Jan 2019
Messages
63
There’s a Like button (other reactions available if you tap & hold on mobile, may be different on desktop) that is present on media items and their comments.
 

Crossover

Established Member
Joined
4 Jun 2009
Messages
8,013
Location
Yorkshire
I do have a solitary "Reactions Received" item that refers to a "Like" button. Can you clarify what the "Reactions Received" heading refers to, please??
It looks like the concept of a "Like" has been expanded to a "Reaction" (which can be a Like, plus other things) a la other social media sites such as Facebook. The forum doesn't use them, however, for reasons which have been previously stated so for us, we basically won't see any change to the number

There’s a Like button (other reactions available if you tap & hold on mobile, may be different on desktop) that is present on media items and their comments.
Also in PM's
 

James H

Member
Joined
25 Jun 2014
Messages
343
There's definitely an issue with the pagination controls (prev / next) within threads.

The buttons appear at narrower window widths, but disappear if you expand the window (eg on a larger monitor).

I'm getting this on Chrome OS.
 

Crossover

Established Member
Joined
4 Jun 2009
Messages
8,013
Location
Yorkshire
There's definitely an issue with the pagination controls (prev / next) within threads.

The buttons appear at narrower window widths, but disappear if you expand the window (eg on a larger monitor).

I'm getting this on Chrome OS.
Firefox browser is doing the same. I'm wondering if it is by design - on a desktop you get a selection of page numbers but on a narrower view (mobile) you get the Next/Prev instead
 

James H

Member
Joined
25 Jun 2014
Messages
343
But it can't be by design, as once you make the window a few pixels wider you lose the ability to navigate - or indeed the ability to detect whether there are further posts in the thread after the ones you are currently reading.
 

Crossover

Established Member
Joined
4 Jun 2009
Messages
8,013
Location
Yorkshire
But it can't be by design, as once you make the window a few pixels wider you lose the ability to navigate - or indeed the ability to detect whether there are further posts in the thread after the ones you are currently reading.
I may be seeing slightly different behaviour. On a desktop I get page numbers which are clickable but without Prev/Next (from memory, I’m on the mobile at the moment), with the latter appearing as the page shrinks.
 

swt_passenger

Veteran Member
Joined
7 Apr 2010
Messages
22,305
There’s a warning that appears just above the text input box to tell you “there are more posts to display”. The associated link “view them” appears in light grey on light grey. :s Could it possibly be made blue like most other clickable links?
 

ainsworth74

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
Joined
16 Nov 2009
Messages
21,849
Location
Redcar
I'm not a member of the tech team but that's not the behaviour I'm seeing. No matter the browser width I have access to buttons to navigate forwards and backward through a thread.
 

Crossover

Established Member
Joined
4 Jun 2009
Messages
8,013
Location
Yorkshire
Here's a video to illustrate the pagination problem
That's a very odd one! It may be worth clearing cache etc in case there is something stuck from pre-upgrade (using Incognito, if Chrome, may also bypass any saved cache and cookies so could be used to try it too)
 

James H

Member
Joined
25 Jun 2014
Messages
343
Clearing the cache and incognito mode make no difference.

Problem only seem apparent on Chrome OS. I have several Chrome OS devices and they're all on the Beta channel.
 

Crossover

Established Member
Joined
4 Jun 2009
Messages
8,013
Location
Yorkshire
Clearing the cache and incognito mode make no difference.

Problem only seem apparent on Chrome OS. I have several Chrome OS devices and they're all on the Beta channel.
Ah! Possibly something in Chrome OS Beta that is causing an issue then. May be worth trying one on a stable release and see if that fixes it. I have to admit, I have never used Chrome OS so can't offer any insight into it
 

Top