• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Glasgow to Paisley, 3rd line?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Callum

Not sure if this has been asked (I'm a newbie, and this is my first post, hi) but does anybody know if the plans for the 3rd line between Glasgow (Shields Road) and Paisley are still going ahead.

I know it was part of G.A.R.L, however the new platforms in Central were still built, and I'm sure I read somewhere the extra line would still be built... Can anyone help?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

DaveNewcastle

Established Member
Hi and Welcome!

Yes, that much is still going ahead, but the spur to the Airport is not.
There's a bit more info on this thread.
The new platforms in Glasgow Central are completed and operational. Work on Gilmour Street Station is about to begin.

4SRKT

Established Member
Why does the world need a third line between Glasgow and Paisley?

DaveNewcastle

Established Member
I'd be happy to respond, 4SRKT, but it would be really helpful to know if you're asking this after having read the problems with capacity on this stretch, the arguments for funding debated and contested in government, the proposal for dealing with the problem in NR's 2007 RUS, the proposed service patters to the SW of Scotland through that route and the conflicts with non passenger services there.
Or if you have not read all or any of these?

(I'm not trying to trip you up 4SRKT, but I would need to know. I could waste a lot of time cutting and pasting answers to your question which you know, or else providing justification of its relevance post-GARL cancellation which you hadn't assessed). Please advise.

CarterUSM

Established Member