Lothian Buses and ECB Discussion

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

gavin1985

Member
Joined
1 Jul 2019
Messages
32
Location
Edinburgh
First time traveling on the buses using contactless on Sunday. Wasn't sure how many buses I would use, so I didn't bother getting a day-saver on the M-tickets app. Have to say that it was a very painless experience, got on the 49 at the Royal Infirmary and changed over to the 300 at Cameron Toll to get off just before the college on Calder Road, where I knew contactless was already in place, I didn't realise that the capping system was in place on the Skylink buses.
Got charged yesterday on my bank for £3.40.

What struck me is that if the Skylink buses were able to be part of the capping system, how can't the Trams be part of the same system? As they have the same zones to deal with essentially.
I know the link on contactless mentions Lothian Country and East Coast (which Lothian Country for me would be handy where I might need to bus it to work for Newbridge in a rush and I might need to make another journey on top of that).
https://www.lothianbuses.com/contactless/
https://www.lothianbuses.com/contactless-capping-faqs/

It is just strange that the Trams have not been mentioned.
 

Weemidi135

Member
Joined
24 Dec 2018
Messages
117
First time traveling on the buses using contactless on Sunday. Wasn't sure how many buses I would use, so I didn't bother getting a day-saver on the M-tickets app. Have to say that it was a very painless experience, got on the 49 at the Royal Infirmary and changed over to the 300 at Cameron Toll to get off just before the college on Calder Road, where I knew contactless was already in place, I didn't realise that the capping system was in place on the Skylink buses.
Got charged yesterday on my bank for £3.40.

What struck me is that if the Skylink buses were able to be part of the capping system, how can't the Trams be part of the same system? As they have the same zones to deal with essentially.
I know the link on contactless mentions Lothian Country and East Coast (which Lothian Country for me would be handy where I might need to bus it to work for Newbridge in a rush and I might need to make another journey on top of that).
https://www.lothianbuses.com/contactless/
https://www.lothianbuses.com/contactless-capping-faqs/

It is just strange that the Trams have not been mentioned.
at the moment lothian country doesn’t have the TAP TAP CAP
 

gavin1985

Member
Joined
1 Jul 2019
Messages
32
Location
Edinburgh
at the moment lothian country doesn’t have the TAP TAP CAP
Yes sorry you are right, what I meant to say is that both Lothian Country and East Coast are at least in the pipeline for the Tap, Tap, Cap. Would be good to see the Trams included, which is what I thought when they removed the minimum £3 spend for cards at the machine.
 

etetetetet

Member
Joined
30 May 2019
Messages
48
Are lothian updating all of their displays? Noticed that a lot of the 10's ex hybrids have had their LED changed to just destination and number, and replaced with the brighter ones too. Same with the 11 plates.

Guess the blinds are over
 
Joined
27 Nov 2018
Messages
815
Are lothian updating all of their displays? Noticed that a lot of the 10's ex hybrids have had their LED changed to just destination and number, and replaced with the brighter ones too. Same with the 11 plates.

Guess the blinds are over
201-215, 401-425, 551-570 have all had there screens changed from two screens to one removing the intermediate stops. i personally preferred the old ones
 

Darklord8899

Member
Joined
6 Jul 2018
Messages
553
.... I miss the 'Part Route' 'Limited Stop' 'Route Diverted' 'Rugby Special' information more than the intermediate points. I also think they were more helpful for visitors as well
 

90019

Established Member
Joined
29 May 2008
Messages
6,642
Location
Edinburgh/Leeds
Not all of 201-215 have been done, some still have the old screens.

The new ones are a pain, because the way they've been set up is totally insane - with only one list of almost 1400 route and destination combinations, and no list of where each route number actually starts within that.
I genuinely can't understand who would set it up like that and think it was a good job.
 

Nawm8

New Member
Joined
5 Jun 2019
Messages
3
Not all of 201-215 have been done, some still have the old screens.

The new ones are a pain, because the way they've been set up is totally insane - with only one list of almost 1400 route and destination combinations, and no list of where each route number actually starts within that.
I genuinely can't understand who would set it up like that and think it was a good job.
Are you on about the ICU602 controllers? The DG3's aren't that bad to use.
 

SpeedbirdA350

Member
Joined
25 Feb 2018
Messages
602
Location
Edinburgh
Who is it that selects the seating layout? I would have assumed Lothian but I'm not sure. One thing I have noticed (please correct me if I am wrong) but the B5LH (551-590) has 2 twin seats for disabled people before the wheelchair space, yet the B5TL has the wheelchair space first. Having those 2 seats closer to the door on the B5LH is so much more welcome for those with mobility issues, than folk can't even imagine. I just wonder why they can't do the B5TL like that.
 

SpeedbirdA350

Member
Joined
25 Feb 2018
Messages
602
Location
Edinburgh
201-215, 401-425, 551-570 have all had there screens changed from two screens to one removing the intermediate stops. i personally preferred the old ones
.... I miss the 'Part Route' 'Limited Stop' 'Route Diverted' 'Rugby Special' information more than the intermediate points. I also think they were more helpful for visitors as well
Should have kept the part route and intermediate screens. Yet another thing changed without proper thought.
I HATE the single destination screens they have. Having the intermediate destinations on the screen was always helpful, even for locals who have not used a certain bus/route before.

210 looks very strange I have to say though https://www.flickr.com/photos/barberbus/48941910561/

They removed the tramboards, removed the intermediate screens, whats next to be removed?
 

SpeedbirdA350

Member
Joined
25 Feb 2018
Messages
602
Location
Edinburgh
Why are 201-215 usually put on route 10 in particular?
They were put on route 10 in 2011, when they were all hybrid. Big launch they had on them but no new orders were placed and LB from then stuck with Wright, until of course, LB ordered the B8L 400XLB. Not sure if it were due to the number of buses required on that route, or what the full reason for 10 was but they were exclusive to that route, almost brand routed so to speak.

the old LEDs have hardly ever shown intermediate stops on the 1
It did (via blinds) until the 1 route started going single deck with the darts. Before then it was deckers and did have Gorgie, Fountainbridge, Princes Street in the upper screen. Not with LED though. My point abotu 210 was that the upper screen was blank but the route number looked out of place.
 

Darklord8899

Member
Joined
6 Jul 2018
Messages
553
I HATE the single destination screens they have. Having the intermediate destinations on the screen was always helpful, even for locals who have not used a certain bus/route before.

They removed the tramboards, removed the intermediate screens, whats next to be removed?
...... maybe they will follow the early 90's Rome example and remove destination screens :lol::|
When I was there buses only displayed a number!!
The only other information that would be displayed was:
'Prolongata' (Extended Terminus)
'Deviata' (Alternate Terminus)
'Completo' (Bus Full - so not stopping)
 

Darklord8899

Member
Joined
6 Jul 2018
Messages
553
I HATE the single destination screens they have. Having the intermediate destinations on the screen was always helpful, even for locals who have not used a certain bus/route before.

They removed the tramboards, removed the intermediate screens, whats next to be removed?
...... maybe they will follow the early 90's Rome example and remove destination screens :lol::|
When I was there buses only displayed a number!!
The only other information that would be displayed was:
'Prolongata' (Extended Terminus)
'Deviata' (Alternate Terminus)
'Completo' (Bus Full - so not stopping)
 

Jordan Adam

Established Member
Joined
12 Sep 2017
Messages
3,391
Location
Aberdeen
Who is it that selects the seating layout? I would have assumed Lothian but I'm not sure. One thing I have noticed (please correct me if I am wrong) but the B5LH (551-590) has 2 twin seats for disabled people before the wheelchair space, yet the B5TL has the wheelchair space first. Having those 2 seats closer to the door on the B5LH is so much more welcome for those with mobility issues, than folk can't even imagine. I just wonder why they can't do the B5TL like that.
Oh the B5LHs the batteries are stored under that seat. As such pretty much all B5LHs have that moulded in seat
 

Grumpyscot

Member
Joined
20 Jul 2019
Messages
7
On the 17 /18 reg buses used on East Coast, the destination screen provides 2 lines of text. Top is usually destination, botton is, e.g. "Semple Street", "Express" etc. When the bypass was shut due to accident, ECB added "route diverted" on the bottom line.

Why can't LB do the same? Customers want the route info but are Lothian bosses too narcissistic to do what the customers want?
 

90019

Established Member
Joined
29 May 2008
Messages
6,642
Location
Edinburgh/Leeds
usually on the old screens on routes such as the 20, 36, 63, 1, 2 they would usually just show the number and destination and miss the intermediate
Most of those routes do have via screens they can use, but single deck drivers aren't used to setting them since the single decks don't have them.
 

Lothian_Bus

Member
Joined
29 Jan 2018
Messages
288
Why are 201-215 usually put on route 10 in particular?
because thats what route they are allocated to
They were put on route 10 in 2011, when they were all hybrid. Big launch they had on them but no new orders were placed and LB from then stuck with Wright, until of course, LB ordered the B8L 400XLB. Not sure if it were due to the number of buses required on that route, or what the full reason for 10 was but they were exclusive to that route, almost brand routed so to speak.


It did (via blinds) until the 1 route started going single deck with the darts. Before then it was deckers and did have Gorgie, Fountainbridge, Princes Street in the upper screen. Not with LED though. My point abotu 210 was that the upper screen was blank but the route number looked out of place.
They were put onto other routes last year (mainly the 14) but after complaints were restored onto the 10.

Generally it was buses from 351-380 that were operating on service 10 at this point so were from 2011 just like 201-215.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman....co-friendly-fleet-after-battery-issues-256562
 

Jordan Adam

Established Member
Joined
12 Sep 2017
Messages
3,391
Location
Aberdeen
Lothian converting them made perfect sense, we have E350Hs up here (almost identical drive-train) and the batteries on them are nothing but bother one of them (29006) was off the road most of last year and even now often randomly cuts out for no reason, they have no clue why. The engines are also under lots of strain as they're at high RPMs almost constantly. That being said i wish with the conversions they had went for a better drive train, the 4 cyl unit is far too small to push a long wheelbase decker of that size.
 

Top