Network rail operative interview (signal mtce)

Shep19

Anyone able to give me a heads up on what to expect for an operative role interview? Any operatives currently working for network rail would be a great help

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

alxndr

I've never done an operative interview, but read up on the safety vision and lifesaving rules. Safety is key.

I'm a technician, but feel free to ask any questions you have about the role.

Yeahyou

I've never done an operative interview, but read up on the safety vision and lifesaving rules. Safety is key.

I'm a technician, but feel free to ask any questions you have about the role.
Hi I hope you don’t mind I see you said above feel free to ask any questions to shep19. I’ve recently applied for a technician job and still waiting to see if I’m successful in getting a interview. I’m really looking for some help to what sort of questions they would ask if I’m lucky enough to get an interview. Thanks.

alxndr

Hi I hope you don’t mind I see you said above feel free to ask any questions to shep19. I’ve recently applied for a technician job and still waiting to see if I’m successful in getting a interview. I’m really looking for some help to what sort of questions they would ask if I’m lucky enough to get an interview. Thanks.
I've never had an operative interview (my background has been apprentice > technician > acting team leader) so can't answer for certain, but in the recent interviews at ours I believe they did ask a couple of more technical questions and did seem pleased with the fact that some had showed they were keen by doing a little bit of background reading. In general though operatives aren't expected to know a great deal, although showing that you're keen to learn is always a good thing. Safety questions will certainly come up, so definitely read up on that side.

Yeahyou