• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Qualified Driver Jobs, FGW Bristol

Status
Not open for further replies.

CharlieChops

Hi all,

I'm a qualified driver with 9 years experience and clear safety record.

I'm currently looking at applying for a drivers job at FGW Bristol Temple Meads, can anyone tell me what routes and traction they sign and what are the rest day patterns that are worked?

Also FGW seem to be taking on at most traincrew depots, do they have drivers leaving or is this recruitment drive just because of expansion?

many Thanks

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

@FGWLee

Most current recruitment is due to increase in depot size to cater for future requirements and new train introduction. Broadly speaking Bristol drivers sign route to Exeter, London, Swansea, Hereford, Worcester, Weymouth. Also towards south coast (Southampton/Portsmouth).

455driver

Veteran Member
Most current recruitment is due to increase in depot size to cater for future requirements and new train introduction. Broadly speaking Bristol drivers sign route to Exeter, London, Swansea, Hereford, Worcester, Weymouth. Also towards south coast (Southampton/Portsmouth).

That might be right for HS but he will be a West driver for a number of years so that info would be more relevant.

NX

Bristol to Westbury onwards to Portsmouth and Weymouth.
Bristol to Chelthenham via Bristol Parkway.
Bristol to Taunton via Weston Super Mare.
Bristol to Severn Beach.
Bristol to Cardiff via Severn Tunnel.
Bristol to St Phillips Marsh TMD

Traction is: 150/153/158/159

Not all links sign all routes.

Moves to the HS are going through very quickly compared to years ago, some down to less than 4 after passing out fresh as a driver.

NX

NX