• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Snow Scotland

Status
Not open for further replies.

Edward111

when is it most likely to snow in scotland, i wanted to go up on the sleeper but wanted to know when snow is most likely around aviemore area :D

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

CarterUSM

Established Member
I'd try around winter time! ;)

Boom boom! But to be fair, gearjammer is right, i'm no expert, but January through to early March seems to be the best time for some decent snowfall, though lets be honest, unpredictable is the word for UK weather!!:D

DaveNewcastle

Established Member
You reckon people on this forum have better knowledge of weather forecasting than people on metrological sites?
I don't know if that's a compliment to us or an insult to the professionals!
Even the tourist information folks at Aviemore should be worth a call?

Anyway, if last year was anything to go by, (and every year is different, isn't it) it was the middle of last January which saw the line north of Aviemore closed after a snow-related derailment (see this thread) followed by another closure in February when the snow plough failed to shift the stuff.

So perhaps the question at that time of year should be, do you want a one way, or were you hoping to get back again as well? ! ! ! ! ! !

Established Member
Word of warning - I wanted to go on a HST from Inverness in January to see the scenery in the snow, ended up getting no further than the information stand at Newcastle. £60 down the drain in hotel fees.

mrcheek

Established Member
I timed things perfectly earlier this year, with a trip to Inverness in the 2nd week of March.