• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

TPE split ticket delay repay problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrmartin

Having a complete nightmare with this (especially considering it takes them multiple weeks to reply to each email from customer relations).

I had a split ticket Euston to Carlisle, changing at Manchester. Avanti was on time, but TPE was ridiculously broken and ended up causing a very bad and poorly communicated delay.

They have refunded the TPE part but keep telling me too to avanti for the other part. Are they liable to refund me for the Avanti part considering it was one journey and they caused all the delay? What's the best option here?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

splitfare

I'm not an expert on this matter but a keen user of split ticketing. I believe one disadvantage with split ticketing is that you turn one contract to get you from A to Z, into two or more contracts - e.g. A to B and B to Z. If the first contract
(Euston - Manchester)
is fulfilled within the delay repay criteria for this section then I believe you have no right to claim. The second contract is the one that incurred a delay and I believe you are only entitled to delay repay on the ticket covering this portion of your journey (unless National Rail Conditions have provisions other than standard contract law).

gray1404

Established Member
Ignore the last post. That is a total load of rubbish and contains a lot of incorrect information.