Customer service skills

Discussion in 'Railway Jobs & Careers' started by Nevillehill, 28 Aug 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nevillehill

Nevillehill Member

I would like to apply for a role on the railway, I have no experience with working with the public, so to gain customer service would it be a good idea to go on a course at college, or practical skills such as volunteering ?

2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

Rail Forums

3. Nevillehill

Nevillehill Member

Take it your username refers to worth valley ? if so why not volunteer their but only put it down in hobbies as the big railway don't like volunteers, they only employ people who don't volunteer.

Last edited by a moderator: 30 Aug 2015
  4. transportphoto

transportphoto Established Member Quizmaster

I'm not so certain about that statement, it's rather sweeping. We've had discussions on this on this forum before, it's not the case at all.

Go out there, find something to do, even if it's a job in retail, volunteering or anything which will give you hands on experience of dealing with the public! It's all well and good knowing the theory behind good customer service from a college course, but realistically, this isn't going to help you much.

TP

5. 455driver

455driver Veteran Member

FGW had better sack 10 staff at my depot then! :roll:

6. grumblingalong

grumblingalong Member

Yup that'd be the end if at least 30 staff in Anglia!

7. LowLevel

LowLevel Established Member

Not to mention a large number of drivers, guards, fitters, station staff and managers here!

8. Jonfun

Jonfun Established Member

One of the lasses at our depot asked if I still did heritage stuff, and I explained that I was spending much less time there but kept my hand in. One of the quieter guys who was sat nearby happened to glance up.
    "Heritage, like, steam trains?"
    "Aye, we do steam trains. Mostly at the weekends, like."