I was an idiot. Preparing myself for consequences with Govia Thameslink.

Discussion in 'Disputes & Prosecutions' started by Izzy38, 7 Dec 2017.

1. Izzy38

Izzy38 Member

I reused my carnet and was caught. It was an utterly wrong thing to do and I completely hold my hands up that what I did was fraudulent and a crime. I am not trying to make excuses. I don't know what I was thinking, and the more I dwell on it the more mortified I feel. It didn't feel like a crime or theft when I did it, I don't know why, but now I do realise how grave it was. I have never done anything like this before and have used the railway lawfully for years.

It took place on a St Albans to London journey.

I have not yet received any letter from Govia but I am sure it is coming. I would like to prepare myself as best possible, recognising the need to both pay for my crime and recompense Govia, but also seeing if an out of court settlement is possible.

I've read through the various threads on similar issues and found them really helpful.

What I am hoping you might be able to advise on is how likely Govia are to settle out of court or whether I should prepare for an inevitable prosecution.

Many thanks.

2. cuccir

cuccir Established Member

Hmm. Misuse of carnet tickets is taken very seriously, due to the significant potential for extended, repeated fare evasion that they represent. In partiuclar, Govia will be interested to know whether you have done this previously.

However, as you may have read on other threads, train companies are still often willing to respond to a well-written letter apologizing and offering to settle out of court for carnet misuse (eg this thread from 2016), particularly if this was a first offence.