• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Low Adhesion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saltleyman

Now is the time of year when drivers encounter the worst railhead conditions.
In AB signalling areas a gradient profile is included on the signalbox diagram board so the signaller knows where gradients exist and there steepness.
And as a retired driver I wondered if signallers in IECC/PSBs have access to gradient profiles for the sections they control?
My reason for asking this is the times I have been stopped on a steeply rising gradient to be told of poor railhead conditions and have had great difficulty restarting a heavy train when the previous controlled signal was on a falling or less restrictive gradient and common sensew would have been to stop me at that signal ?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Now is the time of year when drivers encounter the worst railhead conditions.
In AB signalling areas a gradient profile is included on the signalbox diagram board so the signaller knows where gradients exist and there steepness.
And as a retired driver I wondered if signallers in IECC/PSBs have access to gradient profiles for the sections they control?
My reason for asking this is the times I have been stopped on a steeply rising gradient to be told of poor railhead conditions and have had great difficulty restarting a heavy train when the previous controlled signal was on a falling or less restrictive gradient and common sensew would have been to stop me at that signal ?