• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Enthusiasts wanting to be train drivers

Status
Not open for further replies.

TDK

Established Member
Hi people,

I was wondering, if you had the chance to become a mainline train driver would you go for the job, I mean if it was a real possibility, I personally think most enthusiasts would like to be drivers,

Before you all say yes, please put a reason why you would like the job!

I am a driver but always wanted to be an airline pilot

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Established Member
Yes, Ignoring the pay, because the job intrests me and I feel it would be a challenge (at first anyway) I don't want a office job I want to be on the move and what better way to do that the be the one that gets everyone else on the move, ive always wanted to do it since I was a little peep not only that but I like trains :lol:

What made you want to become a driver?

Established Member
No, I wouldn't.
It would be nice, but I'm a bit slow at times, and have fairly major memory problems :|

There are a few other things, but I'd rather not go into them.

jopsuk

Veteran Member
Nope. Wanted to when I was a kid, but other than damn good pay, I see little to attract me to train driving. My leisure pursuits would be incompatible with the shift lifestyle, most driving looks quite tedious really, with little room (rightly) for creativity and innovation, with overbearing management.

I like my 9-5, with freedom to plan my own work, with a requirement for me to innovate, and with weekends that are free for me to go sail. It is far from perfect, but I like it most of the time. I think I'd feel trapped in the cab of a train.

TDK

Established Member
What made you want to become a driver?