Trivia: Stations with only one platform on double track lines?

Discussion in 'Infrastructure & Stations' started by mike57, 21 Aug 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mike57

    mike57 Member

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    13 Mar 2015
    Location:
    East coast of Yorkshire
    Whilst sat on a late running Scarborough bound train outside Malton station waiting for the York bound train to clear the station I wondered how many other stations have only one platform on a double track line. Malton is the only one I have seen.

    The timetable means that if the Scarborough bound train is more than a few minutes late then it clashes with the York bound train, and one of them has to wait for the platform. The platform is actually on the Scarborough bound side.

    Were there ever more platforms at Malton?
     
  2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

    Rail Forums

     
  3. yorksrob

    yorksrob Veteran Member

    Messages:
    21,820
    Joined:
    6 Aug 2009
    Location:
    Yorks
    Does Dore count ?

    (Even though there are actually 3 running lines rather than 2.
     
  4. D6975

    D6975 Established Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Joined:
    26 Nov 2009
    Location:
    Bristol
    There's one just down the coast from Carlisle. Maryport is it?

    and Hartlepool..
     
  5. headshot119

    headshot119 Established Member

    Messages:
    1,836
    Joined:
    31 Dec 2010
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Penryn is an odd one. The diagram on Wikipedia explains the layouts better than words.
     
  6. najaB

    najaB Veteran Member

    Messages:
    20,978
    Joined:
    28 Aug 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    Dunbar - the station is on a loop.
     
  7. Mojo

    Mojo Forum Staff Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    17,208
    Joined:
    7 Aug 2005
    Location:
    0035
    Bromsgrove station when it was rebuilt in the late 1960s only had one platform; trains had to cross over in order to call there. An additional platform was added in the 1990s to remove the need to do this. FWIW, a new Bromsgrove station is currently under construction, which will have 4 platforms!

    Not sure if it counts, but Aylesbury Vale Parkway has a platform and there is another line that does not have a platform. It's not on a through line though; the platform line ends at some buffer stops.
     
  8. mike57

    mike57 Member

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    13 Mar 2015
    Location:
    East coast of Yorkshire
    Forgotten about Dunbar, been through it a number of times. Only been through Maryport once, in the dark so didnt really see it. Dore, yes thats another one, I am right in thinking that only Manchester bound/originating trains can call at Dore
     
  9. yorksrob

    yorksrob Veteran Member

    Messages:
    21,820
    Joined:
    6 Aug 2009
    Location:
    Yorks
    Yes, it's only on the Hope line.
     
  10. crispy1978

    crispy1978 Member

    Messages:
    1,037
    Joined:
    4 Feb 2013
    Location:
    Scarborough
    Looks like Malton used to have three platforms - had to serve up to Pickering in the past.

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malton_railway_station#

     
    Last edited: 21 Aug 2015
  11. RichmondCommu

    RichmondCommu Established Member

    Messages:
    6,767
    Joined:
    23 Feb 2010
    Location:
    Richmond, London
    Ulceby in North Lincolnshire fits the bill. My wife and I visited it the other week whilst photographing the signal box; its got a tiny platform complete with a simple shelter. Passenger services appear to be only every two hours but on weekdays there is a very frequent freight service.
     
  12. AM9

    AM9 Established Member

    Messages:
    7,613
    Joined:
    13 May 2014
    Location:
    St Albans
    Until recently, Cambridge only had one physical platform for through trains.

    I suppose that it was a sort of 'super Penryn'. :)
    --- old post above --- --- new post below ---
    How about Litchfield Trent Valley high level?
     
    Last edited: 21 Aug 2015
  13. thenorthern

    thenorthern Established Member

    Messages:
    3,566
    Joined:
    27 May 2013
    A favorite on here Polesworth.

    I think North Road station is like that and Ribblehead was from 1986 until 1993. Barbican mainline was like that I think until it closed in 2009.
     
  14. Parallel

    Parallel Established Member

    Messages:
    2,674
    Joined:
    9 Dec 2013
    Yeoford has one platform and two lines going through it. Well, it does have a second, but it can't be used for passenger service. It's worth noting that the line via. the serviceable platform is used by trains to Barnstaple, and the other line is used by Summer Sunday specials to Okehampton. The lines work seperately from Crediton IIRC as there is no longer a junction at Yeoford.

    Also, the proposed station at Pill (Portishead line) is planned to have one platform, despite the planning of two adjacent lines. (One for passenger trains, one for freight.)
     
  15. railnerd

    railnerd Member

    Messages:
    143
    Joined:
    16 Mar 2015
    Location:
    Near where the above once stood
    Hi.
    Syston, north of leicester
     
  16. RichmondCommu

    RichmondCommu Established Member

    Messages:
    6,767
    Joined:
    23 Feb 2010
    Location:
    Richmond, London
    Yep, I use that station when I visit my Dad. You can clearly see where the other platform used to be and there are also some steps leading up to it.
     
  17. kjhskj75

    kjhskj75 Member

    Messages:
    127
    Joined:
    14 Jul 2012
    Only one platform at Castleford (near Pontefract) is in use.
     
  18. Crossover

    Crossover Established Member

    Messages:
    7,912
    Joined:
    4 Jun 2009
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Yeah, the new station at Bromsgrove is well under construction - having passed it 3 times in the last couple of weeks

    Is Aylesbury Vale Parkway counts, then surely Alloa must too (bay platform with a freight line continuing a little further running parallel to it)
     
  19. 30907

    30907 Established Member

    Messages:
    8,038
    Joined:
    30 Sep 2012
    Location:
    Airedale
    Penryn is a passing loop on a single line railway.

    Ware is on a double track route but only has one track through the station so maybe doesn't quite qualify.

    Was Ulceby originally two platforms?
     
  20. thenorthern

    thenorthern Established Member

    Messages:
    3,566
    Joined:
    27 May 2013
    What about Newton Heath and Moston and Navagation Road they are rather unique.
     
  21. Hophead

    Hophead Member

    Messages:
    914
    Joined:
    5 Apr 2013
    Until the new platform was commissioned (10 years or so back?) Kensington Olympia sort of qualified:

    • 1 operational through platform (plus bay for District Line)
    • Disused southbound platform
    • Unfortunately 3 running lines (so not strictly a 'double track' line where the West London Line passes the station)

    Unless someone knows better (which they probably will)
     
  22. RichmondCommu

    RichmondCommu Established Member

    Messages:
    6,767
    Joined:
    23 Feb 2010
    Location:
    Richmond, London
    From what my wife and I could see that didn't appear to be case, at least we couldn't see any trace of another one having existed. I'd be very happy to be corrected though!
     
  23. HLE

    HLE Established Member

    Messages:
    1,258
    Joined:
    27 Dec 2013
    Not quite the same thing but Water Orton only has one platform which serves Leicester to Birmingham services.
     
  24. CockneySparrow

    CockneySparrow Member

    Messages:
    1,070
    Joined:
    14 Aug 2012
    Location:
    Stratford
    Trimley in Suffolk, you have the second track that runs through the old platform 2 then takes the curve towards the freight terminal going past the old Felixstowe Beach station
     
  25. PHILIPE

    PHILIPE Veteran Member

    Messages:
    11,131
    Joined:
    14 Nov 2011
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Maryport, yes.
     
  26. 43074

    43074 Established Member

    Messages:
    1,628
    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    The slow lines on the MML at Loughborough have a platform on the down slow (Northbound line) but not on the up (Southbound) so the Lincoln to Leicester services have to cross from the up line to the down line at Loughborough North Jn and back again at Loughborough South Jn having called at the station.

    I think it's quite a recent thing because I would assume the third platform was re-instated for the Ivanhoe Line services in 1994.
     
  27. Stan63

    Stan63 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    20 Apr 2014
    Ardrossan South Beach and West Kilbride in Ayrshire. Both have 2 lines and only one platform although only the line at the platform is electrified. The other is used for freight from Hunterston.

    Stan
     
  28. thebigcheese

    thebigcheese Member

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    2 Jan 2012
    Chafford Hundred in Essex
     
  29. Mojo

    Mojo Forum Staff Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    17,208
    Joined:
    7 Aug 2005
    Location:
    0035
    What about Corkerhill on the Paisley Canal branch? There is only one platform in use but two tracks go through the station; the line with no platform face ends at buffer stops just past the station and is merely a shunting neck for the nearby depot.
    --- old post above --- --- new post below ---
    Last time I was there was only one line through Chafford Hundred. Has another line been put in recently?
     
  30. Ediswan

    Ediswan Member

    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    15 Nov 2012
    Location:
    Stevenage
    Does Ware count ? That is a double track line except for a short section around Ware station.
     
  31. 70014IronDuke

    70014IronDuke Established Member

    Messages:
    2,672
    Joined:
    13 Jun 2015
    I don't think Loughborough ever had a third platform before the modern Ivanhoe service started, ie it was not 're-instated' - it previously only ever had platforms on the fasts. Open to correction though - I'm sure there has to be on MR expert in here who will know.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page